Docs » Manage permissions for detectors, dashboard groups, and dashboards

Manage permissions for detectors, dashboard groups, and dashboards ๐Ÿ”—


Available in Enterprise Edition

Write permissions ๐Ÿ”—

By default, except for built-in dashboards, anyone can edit any detector, dashboard group, or detector. To prevent users from inadvertently making changes to one of these items, you can specify write permissions for the item. Use write permissions in the following situations:

  • As a user, limit write permissions on your user dashboard group

  • As a team member, specify that only other team members can edit an item

  • As an administrator, specify that only specific users can edit items that monitor critical or sensitive information

Rules for setting permissions ๐Ÿ”—

Permissions work in the following way:

  • You can set permissions for detectors, dashboard groups, and dashboards.

  • If an item doesnโ€™t have any permissions set, all users have write permission for the item. By default, a new detector, dashboard group, or dashboard has no permissions set.

  • Anyone who has write permission for an item can grant or revoke all permissions for the item.

  • Anyone who has write permission can grant write permission to individual users or teams.

  • Administrators can grant and revoke permissions for any item.

Important

Permissions help prevent accidental changes, but they donโ€™t disable changes. Consider the following:

  • If a team has write permission for an item, any user can join that team and thus gain write access to that particular item.

  • Administrators can add themselves to the permissions list for an item to gain write permission for it.

  • A user with write permissions to an item can add or remove others from the permissions for that item.

Manage write permissions ๐Ÿ”—

To help you manage write permissions, Observability Cloud lets you view grant, and revoke permissions.

The section Rules for setting permissions describes the rules that govern permissions.

If you want to get write permission for an item, or if you want to modify permissions, first determine who already has permissions by displaying the Permissions list. You can then ask a user who has permission to add you to the permissions list.

Display write permissions for an item ๐Ÿ”—

The following procedures describe how to display write permissions for detectors, dashboard groups, and dashboards.

Display a dashboard group permissions list ๐Ÿ”—

To display the permissions list for a dashboard group, follow these steps:

  1. Display the dashboard group.

  2. Click the Actions menu icon, then select Permissions.

Display a dashboard permissions list ๐Ÿ”—

To display the permissions list for a dashboard, follow these steps:

  1. Display the dashboard.

  2. Click the Actions menu icon, then select Permissions.

Display a detector permissions list ๐Ÿ”—

To display the permissions list for a detector, follow these steps:

  1. Open the detector.

  2. Click the Actions menu icon, then select Permissions.

Note

You can open a detector from the Detectors tab on the Alerts page

Grant and revoke permissions ๐Ÿ”—

After you display a permissions list, you can start to grant or revoke write permission for users or teams. To grant or revoke permissions for an item, you need write permission for the item.

The following illustrations show the process for setting permissions for a dashboard; the technique for adding or removing permissions is identical for detectors. If you are setting permissions for a dashboard group, you can also specify permissions for individual dashboards in the group.

The procedure for granting and revoking permissions is the same for dashboards and detectors. For dashboard groups, you can also grant and revoke permissions for individual dashboards in the group.

Grant write permissions ๐Ÿ”—

To grant write permissions for an item, follow these steps:

  1. Display the permissions for the item. To learn more, see Display write permissions for an item.

  2. To start using specific write permissions for an item, uncheck Anyone in this organization can edit. You are now the only user who can edit the item.

  3. Click Add user or team, then select the users or teams (or both) to whom you want to grant write permissions for the item.

  4. Click Save

Revoke write permissions ๐Ÿ”—

To revoke write permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Display the permissions for the item. To learn more, see Display write permissions for an item.

  2. To remove a user or team, click the x next to the user or team name.

  3. Click Save

Important

You can remove your own write permission from an item. If you do this deliberately or by accident, and youโ€™re not an administrator, you canโ€™t grant yourself write permission again. Instead, you have to find someone else with write permission to grant you write permission.