Splunk® Enterprise

Splunk Dashboard Studio

Acrobat logo Download manual as PDF


Acrobat logo Download topic as PDF

Migrate your dashboards and delete the Splunk Dashboards app (beta)

Now that this framework is a part of Splunk Enterprise and Splunk Cloud Platform, you should move any dashboards from the app to the Splunk Dashboard Studio to take advantage of new features in future releases. Enterprise users should delete or disable the app after migrating their dashboards. If you are a Cloud user, you must file a support ticket to have the app removed.

Migrate your dashboards out of the Splunk Dashboards app

Move your dashboards out of the Splunk Dashboards app (beta) and into another app, for example, Search & Reporting or Dashboard Studio. Cloud users will experience a faster release cycle than Enterprise users. When Enterprise users upgrade to a release, all of the release changes made to Splunk Cloud Platform will be available after upgrade.

If dashboard images fail to load after the migration, delete and re-upload the images.

Required permissions

  • Admins and sc_admins can move any dashboard to any app, whether it is shared or private.
  • Power users can move any shared dashboard to any app.
  • Users with basic user permissions can only move dashboards created by them.

Steps to move your dashboards

  1. Go to Settings > Knowledge > User interface > Views.
  2. Filter the page by using the term, "splunk-dashboard-app" and click the search button.
  3. In the Actions column, click Move.
  4. Select the app you'd like to move your dashboard to from the App context: menu.

Delete the Splunk Dashboards App (beta)

You must have the admin role to delete an app.

In a Search Head Cluster, use the deployer to delete the app. The configuration bundle resides under the $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/shcluster directory. The set of files under that directory constitutes the configuration bundle.

The directory has this structure:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/shcluster/
     apps/
          <app-name>/
          <app-name>/
          ...
     users/

To delete the app, remove it from the configuration bundle. When you next push the bundle, each member will delete it from its own file system.

If you need to remove an app, inspect its app.conf file to make sure that state = enabled. If state = disabled, the deployer will not remove the app even if you remove it from the configuration bundle.

To learn more about how and where apps are bundled, see, Where to place the configuration bundle on the deployer in the Distributed Search manual.

Last modified on 31 August, 2021
PREVIOUS
What is the Splunk Dashboard Studio?
  NEXT
Share data with Splunk Enterprise and the Splunk Dashboard Studio

This documentation applies to the following versions of Splunk® Enterprise: 8.2.0, 8.2.1, 8.2.2


Was this documentation topic helpful?

You must be logged into splunk.com in order to post comments. Log in now.

Please try to keep this discussion focused on the content covered in this documentation topic. If you have a more general question about Splunk functionality or are experiencing a difficulty with Splunk, consider posting a question to Splunkbase Answers.

0 out of 1000 Characters