Splunk® Data Stream Processor

Connect to Data Sources and Destinations with DSP

Acrobat logo Download manual as PDF


Acrobat logo Download topic as PDF

Managing connections in the

In the , you can manage your connections from the Canvas View or from the Connections page.

Starting point Usage
The Canvas View Lets you access relevant connections without navigating away from your pipeline. You can create, view, or edit any connections that are supported by a source or sink function in the current pipeline.


See Canvas Builder in the Use the Data Stream Processor manual for more information.

The Connections page Provides complete access to all the connections in your DSP environment. You can create, view, edit, or delete any of the connections.

Using the Canvas View

On the Canvas View, you can create, view, edit or delete connections that are supported by a source or sink function in your pipeline. For example, if your pipeline includes the Send to Splunk HTTP Event Collector sink function, then you can manage the connections for this sink function through the Canvas View.

  1. Open a pipeline in DSP, and make sure that the SPL View toggle switch is in the "off" position.
  2. Click the source or sink function that you want to manage connections for.
  3. In the View Configurations pane, use the options in the Connection id drop-down list to manage your connections:
    Task Instructions
    Create a connection Select Create Connection from the Connection id drop-down list. For details about creating connections for a specific data source or destination, refer to the corresponding chapter in this Connect to Data Sources and Destinations with DSP manual.
    View connection details Select the connection from the Connection id drop-down list and then click the Edit icon (DSP Pencil icon) beside the list. You can review the connection information in the dialog box that opens.
    Edit a connection Before editing a connection, make sure that your changes won't have unwanted impacts on any other pipelines. You can confirm whether a connection is used in multiple pipelines by checking the Usage column on the Connections page.


    To edit a connection, select the connection from the Connection id drop-down list and then click the Edit icon (DSP Pencil icon) beside the list. In the dialog box that opens, modify the connection information and click Save.

    If you edit a connection that's being used by an active pipeline, you must reactivate that pipeline after making your changes.

    Delete a connection Before deleting a connection, check the Usage column on the Connections page to make sure that the connection is not used in any active pipelines. You must deactivate any pipelines that are using that connection.


    To delete a connection, select the connection from the Connection id drop-down list and then click the Delete icon (Delete icon) beside the list. When you are prompted to confirm your decision, click Delete.

Using the Connections page

On the Connections page, you can create, view, edit, or delete any of the connections in your DSP environment.

  1. In DSP, select the Connections page.
  2. Manage your connections:
    Task Instructions
    Create a connection Click Create Connection and then select the connector associated with the data source or destination that you want to connect to.

    For details about creating connections for a specific data source or destination, refer to the corresponding chapter in this Connect to Data Sources and Destinations with DSP manual.

    View connection details Click the row that lists the connection. You can review the connection information in the dialog box that opens.
    Edit a connection Before editing a connection, make sure that your changes won't have unwanted impacts on any other pipelines. You can confirm whether a connection is used in multiple pipelines by checking the Usage column.


    To edit a connection, click the row that lists the connection. In the dialog box that opens, modify the connection information and click Save.

    If you edit a connection that's being used by an active pipeline, you must reactivate that pipeline after making your changes.

    Delete a connection Before deleting a connection, check the Usage column to make sure that the connection is not used in any active pipelines. You must deactivate any pipelines that are using that connection.


    To delete a connection, select More More icon > Delete in the row that lists the connection, and then click Delete.

Last modified on 24 March, 2022
PREVIOUS
Data collection methods
  NEXT
Connecting a Splunk forwarder to your pipeline

This documentation applies to the following versions of Splunk® Data Stream Processor: 1.3.0, 1.3.1


Was this documentation topic helpful?


You must be logged into splunk.com in order to post comments. Log in now.

Please try to keep this discussion focused on the content covered in this documentation topic. If you have a more general question about Splunk functionality or are experiencing a difficulty with Splunk, consider posting a question to Splunkbase Answers.

0 out of 1000 Characters