Splunk® Style Guide

Splunk Style Guide

Acrobat logo Download manual as PDF


Acrobat logo Download topic as PDF

Example names and domains

If you need to create a fictitious name, email address, domain name, phone number, or IP address in your docs, create an example that adheres to the following guidance.

Names

If you need a fictitious name for an example in your docs, use a name that's sensitive to culture, religious affiliation, holidays, traditions, politics, and business. Make sure that the name you create reflects the wide range of names used around the world.

Don't use a fictional character that's currently in copyright, your own name, or the name of friends or family members as an example name.

See the following examples of names that meet this guidance:

  • Alex Martin
  • Claudia Garcia
  • Celestino Paulo
  • David Mayer
  • Ikraam Rahat
  • Maria Dubois
  • Nyah Aamadu
  • Rutherford Sullivan
  • Vanya Patel
  • Wei Zhang

Email addresses

If you need a fictitious email address for an example in your docs, use a name that follows the guidance in the Names section. Never use your own name, or the name of friends or family members, in an example email address.

Use Buttercup Games, a fictitious online store created by Splunk, as the email domain.

See the following examples:

  • info@buttercupgames.com
  • buttercup@buttercupgames.com
  • alex@buttercupgames.com
  • claudia@buttercupgames.com
  • celestino@buttercupgames.com
  • david@buttercupgames.com
  • ikraam@buttercupgames.com
  • maria@buttercupgames.com
  • nyah@buttercupgames.com
  • rutherford@buttercupgames.com
  • vanya@buttercupgames.com
  • wei@buttercupgames.com

In cases where it doesn't make sense to use Buttercup Games as the email domain, use the @example.com suffix.

Domain names

If you need a fictitious domain name for an example in your docs, use a URL from the domain example.com, such as http://www.example.splunk.com.

In cases where it doesn't make sense to use Splunk in the URL, you can use http://www.example.com. The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) set aside this domain specifically for documentation needs.

Phone numbers

If you need a fictitious phone number for an example in your docs, use a North American phone number in the range +1-555-555-0100 through +1-555-555-0199. The North American Numbering Plan set aside this range of phone numbers to use in examples and in fiction.

If you need a fictitious international phone number for an example in your docs, you can use the fictitious Australian phone number of +61-02-5550-9988.

Never use a real phone number as a phone number example.

IP addresses

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) have reserved various IP addresses specifically for documentation needs.

If you need to include a fictitious IP address in your documentation, review the IETF memo for the latest guidance:

Last modified on 03 December, 2021
PREVIOUS
Contractions
  NEXT
Plurals in parentheses

This documentation applies to the following versions of Splunk® Style Guide: current, current


Was this documentation topic helpful?

You must be logged into splunk.com in order to post comments. Log in now.

Please try to keep this discussion focused on the content covered in this documentation topic. If you have a more general question about Splunk functionality or are experiencing a difficulty with Splunk, consider posting a question to Splunkbase Answers.

0 out of 1000 Characters